Happy Easter

If you follow me on Instagram then you will have already read my clever little intro about how Spring has sprung (seriously, I picked the flowers from my garden!), the Lord has risen (went to a beautiful Easter Sunday Mass) and brunch has been served (more details on that below)….

We went to Mass at my personal FAVORITE church – Holy Trinity. It is in Peter’s parents’ hometown (about 25 minutes from our new house), so it is a rare treat when we get to celebrate Mass here. I love it for its simplicity, it’s just stunning.  It feels most like “my” parish of all the churches we’ve been to here, since this is where we regularly went when I used to visit Peter (you know, way back in the day before we were married!). And when we lived in the city center we regularly journeyed out to the ‘burbs to go to Mass here. Needless to say, I was very happy we made it for Easter —

image

Love the details on the exterior of the building too –

It was such a glorious day when we got out of Mass (view across the street from church) –image

Once we got home, I made brunch! We had ham baked in a honey glaze, baked omelet with zucchini, bell pepper, red onion and chives, strawberry tarts and, last but not least, THE best French toast casserole I have ever made! Now, if you know me, you know I’m all about the French toast casserole. You cannot beat the ease of pre-assembling it the night before, storing it in the fridge and  then popping it in the oven the next morning as if it took you no effort! You also cannot beat the lusciousness of custard soaked brioche coved in a coconut and oat crumble. Seriously, heavenly. Peter and I both went back for seconds …and thirds.

image

 

image

Close up of the show-stoppin’ French toast “casserole” –

image

And what’s a post about our day without showing off my Teddy?! He’s looking super grown up these days (9 months in a week!) –

image

After brunch we headed over to Peter’s parents for some family time with grandparents, aunts, uncles and a cute little niece! We had tea for dinner there – sandwiches, scones and cakes. So British. Here are the hoards of daffodils growing in Peter’s parents front yard! (Again, so British!) –

image

Hope you all had a blessed and happy Easter!!

Leave a Reply

